Contact Us

Our Locations

  • The Literacy Council of Reading-Berks
    The Joan M. Breisch Adult Learning Center (headquarters)
    35 South Dwight Street
    West Lawn, PA 19609
    610.670.9960
    Monday – Thursday – 8:00 A.M. – 9:00 P.M.
    Friday – 8:00 A.M. – 4:00 P.M.
  • Muhlenberg Elementary Center
    610 Sharp Avenue
    Laureldale, PA 19605
    610.670.9960
    Monday and Wednesday – 6:00 P.M. – 8:30 P.M.
  • Historic Trinity Lutheran Church, Reading
    527 Washington Street
    Reading, PA 19601
    610.670.9960
    Tuesday – Friday – 9:30 A.M. – 12:00 P.M.
  • Reading Public Library, Northeast Branch
    1348 North 11th Street
    Reading, PA 19604
    610.655.6361
    Tuesday and Thursday – 6:30 P.M. – 9:00 P.M.

 

Board Officers – 2017 – 2018

The Literacy Council of Reading-Berks is governed by a volunteer board of directors.

President – Robert Libutti, 2019*
Retired
UGI

Vice President – Jason Brudereck, 2020*
Director of Communication
Berks County Community Foundation

Secretary – Emily L. Hershey, 2018
Teacher
Wilson School District

Treasurer – Terry Grassley, 2019
Director of Administration PA & NJ – Vice President
Customers Bank

Board of Directors

Megan Adukaitis, 2019
Director, Office of Career Development
Alvernia University

Bridget Cambria, Esq., 2018
Attorney-at-Law
Cambria & Kline, PC

Hector Delgado, 2019*
Student Representative

James Elliker, 2020
Doctoral Candidate in Leadership Studies
Alvernia University

Dr. Roula S. Elliker, 2020
Gifted Support Teacher
Muhlenberg School District

Jacqueline M. Kline, Esq., 2018
Attorney-at-Law
Cambria & Kline, PC

Pat Snyder, 2018
Office Manager
C. Malcom Smith, CPA

Denise Strohmayr, 2019
Academic Advisor/Adjunct Faculty
Reading Area Community College

* – member must leave Board for one year upon expiration of term

Administrative Staff

Ryan A. Breisch – Executive Director
ryan@lcrb.org

Laurie Dawkins – Associate Director
laurie@lcrb.org

Beverly Hirneisen – Case Manager
bev@lcrb.org

Cathy Martin – English Forward Coordinator
cathy@lcrb.org

Wendy Rio – Data Entry Coordinator
wendy@lcrb.org

Lillian Svenson – Administrative Assistant
lil@lcrb.org

Ramona Turpin – Workforce Development Coordinator
ramona@lcrb.org

Instructional Staff

Don Bickel

Beth Ann Crippen – bethann@lcrb.org

Allison Dracha – allison@lcrb.org

Susan Fineman – sue@lcrb.org

Patricia Rittenhouse – pat@lcrb.org

Pamela Sonon – pam@lcrb.org

Jennifer Thompsonjennifer@lcrb.org